Matthias Oestringer


Photo credit: Willie Lyou Photography


Matthias Oestringer is violist in the newly formed Concordia Quartet, a professional string quartet based in Singapore.

Matthias Oestringer is a violinist, violist and music educator, who has worked across Europe and is based in Singapore since 2002. He graduated from the Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt (Germany), where he studied under the tutelage of Dorothee Birke (violin), Jan Nowicki (viola) and participated in master- and chamber music classes with Michael Hahn, Prof Rainer Hoffmann, Matthias Gräff-Schestag, Lavard Skou Larsen and Prof Valery Gradow.

In 1991 Matthias was first prize winner in a German national youth competition.
He became concertmaster in his Academies Symphony Orchestra and appeared with it as soloist in the final concert to the celebrations of Johann Wolfgang von Goetheʼs 250 Birthday in 1999 in Frankfurt/Main, Germany.

From 2001 to 2002 Matthias was guest violist with the “Ensemble Carolina”, performing Mozartʼs Piano Quartetʼs in several concert hallʼs in Germany.
Matthias performed in concerts and solo recitals in Poland, France, Germany, Switzerland and Turkey. He regularly participated at “Tage für Neue Musik” (a festival for contemporary music) in Darmstadt where he was active in performing and premiering music.

2013 he joined the faculty of Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) as a lecturer for violin principle studies and since 2016 performs as violinist and violist at Resound Collective.

He plays on a french viola by Pierre Caradot.

The Concordia Quartet

Lin Juan


Edward Tan


Kim Ryu Ri



Development of this website was supported by a grant from National Arts Council, Singapore